Psychic Rule Changes

Have a rules question? Ask it in here.

Moderator: Artemis

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby Maakeff » Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:06 pm

You know something's expertly balanced when it's really hard to choose between the options available. :-)
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.

http://wiki.norestforthewicked.org.uk/Winter
User avatar
Maakeff
Lord-Captain
Lord-Captain
Winter
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Birmingham, the U.K.

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby horzabora » Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:20 pm

Mark,

We call that the Graeme rule, as he was the one who introduced us to it.

If people *almost always* take a power, it's too good. If they *very rarely* take a power, it's weak. A well balanced ability/power/skill should have a roughly even split and people being able to argue over it.

I am pleased people feel we've hit the mark this time :)
Rob Collins
Creative Director: Conflict Resolution
Lead Storyteller: Inquisition Chronicles
Storyteller: No Rest for the Wicked
"A good soldier obeys without question. A good officer commands without doubt."
User avatar
horzabora
Storyteller
Storyteller
Creative Director
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:50 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby spydacarnage » Wed Oct 14, 2015 3:37 pm

horzabora wrote:My apologies for making this update so late in the day, but I don't think anyone will mind.
The effects of red beads have been reduced to VITAL SINGLE - this may be altered pending playtest results (by which I mean, after the next game).

I have updated the negative effect for red beads to begin at -4 and run from -5 to -8 inclusive. I have also altered these effects to make them less harsh/disabling from play, but still brutal, but hopefully cool/fun to roleplay with buckets of fake blood brutal.


Can I get confirmation about the secondary effects of red beads. The rules now say that "If the damage from red beads takes a psyker to below -4 maximum Body Points" - does that mean the 5th red bead (regardless of the number of body hits the psyker has), or something else?
User avatar
spydacarnage
Crewman
Crewman
Red
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby Yoda » Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:56 pm

Astrotelepathy has been clarified here to save further questions.

Added "Astrotelepathy functions as a 60 point influence action" to the existing write-up.
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby mindwanders » Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:43 pm

Should that be either:
a) Astrotelepathy functions as a 60 point psychic asset that can only be used on Gain IP convert endeavors
or
B) Astrotelepathy functions as a 60 difficulty Gain IP convert endeavor with no costs
or
C) B) Astrotelepathy increases the output of a Gain IP convert endeavor by 60
Gordon McDonald
Captain Bartholomew Noxof the Milady De Winter
Former Ref
google.com/+GordonMcDonald
User avatar
mindwanders
Lord-Captain
Lord-Captain
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby Yoda » Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:54 pm

Astrotelepathy functions as a 60 point Psychic Influence asset.

As described in the power, it has two uses:
  1. Boosts the output of Earn IP endeavours
  2. Conceals the use of a single other Influence

As it functions as a 60 point Influence asset, and a 60 point Influence asset can add 60 points to the difficulty of an endeavour, then I think it would be safe to assume from that that it adds 60 points to the difficulty of Earn IP endeavours. The power does not mention that it covers the costs involved for you. As such, if the costs are not otherwise provided for, they would come out of the difficulty, reducing the output to 45IP.
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby mindwanders » Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:25 pm

Ahhhh... Now I understand.

Thank you :-)
Gordon McDonald
Captain Bartholomew Noxof the Milady De Winter
Former Ref
google.com/+GordonMcDonald
User avatar
mindwanders
Lord-Captain
Lord-Captain
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby NeillC » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:52 pm

If you have two Psykers with Astrotelepathy, can you apply them both to the same Endeavour?
Lord Captain Calder Traherne
NeillC
Captain
Captain
Cal Traherne
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:27 pm

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby Yoda » Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:38 pm

I don't see why not?
- Yoda.
Do you hear the voices too?!
User avatar
Yoda
Storyteller
Storyteller
Code Cultist
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:03 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Psychic Rule Changes

Postby NeillC » Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:54 pm

Nor do I, but I thought it better to check :-)
Lord Captain Calder Traherne
NeillC
Captain
Captain
Cal Traherne
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:27 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest